Murder Defense Attorneys in Miami, OK
Defending Clients Facing Murder Charges in Oklahoma
If you are facing charges of murder, you need to speak with an experienced Miami murder defense attorney as soon as possible. A murder conviction can result in life in prison or even the death penalty. Even if you are innocent, you will need an attorney to work to reduce or drop your charges. At Bennett & Gallon, our murder defense lawyers in Miami can help defend you against murder charges.
Are you facing murder charges in Oklahoma? Call Bennett & Gallon today a (888) 814-9045 or contact us online to schedule a meeting with one of our Miami, OK murder defense lawyers!
What Is Considered Murder in Oklahoma?
Under Oklahoma law, murder is the unlawful killing of another person with malice aforethought. Malice aforethought is the intent to kill or cause serious bodily injury. Murder is the most serious of all crimes and is charged as a first-degree felony. Oklahoma has different degrees of murder, depending upon the circumstances of the crime.
- First-degree murder. This is the most serious form of murder and is charged when the act was premeditated, occurred during the commission of a felony, or involved the killing of a law enforcement officer or other public servant.
- Second-degree murder. This is charged when the act was not premeditated, occurred during the commission of a felony, or involved killing a child or an individual under 14 years old.
- Third-degree murder. This is charged when the act was not premeditated and involved killing a child or an individual under 14 years old.
At Bennett & Gallon, we understand you are facing the most serious charges you can imagine. Our murder attorneys in Miami can work to develop a strong defense strategy for your charges. We know that you are innocent and can work to prove that to a jury, helping to reduce or drop your charges.
What Are the Penalties for Murder in Oklahoma?
The penalties for murder will depend on the circumstances of the crime. Murder is a first-degree felony that can result in life in prison or the death penalty. If you are convicted of murder, you will be ineligible for probation and must serve 85 percent of your sentence. You may also be required to pay restitution to your victim's family.
What Is the Statute of Limitations for Murder in Oklahoma?
Under Oklahoma law, the statute of limitations for murder is 20 years. This means you can be charged with murder 20 years after the act occurred. However, there are some exceptions to this rule. For example, if the murder victim was a minor and the perpetrator was aware of that fact, the statute of limitations will not run until the victim turns 18.
Contact Bennett & Gallon today to schedule a FREE initial consultation!
“My experience with both Partners in this law firm has been very professional. I feel like my situation was taken seriously and handled with the confidence I would expect my representation to have when handling my personal matters.” - Brian W.