Joplin, MO & Miami, OK Misdemeanor Charge Lawyers
Informed Guidance & Support Throughout Your Case
While misdemeanors are less serious than felonies, they can still result in harsh penalties and lead to a permanent criminal record. A criminal record can diminish prospects of employment, housing, educational opportunities, and professional licenses in various careers, such as teaching, piloting, real estate, plumbing, nursing, medicine, cosmetology, construction, and more. You will want to ensure that you have a thorough and aggressive defense against your misdemeanor charges to fight back, keep your record clean, and avoid criminal penalties.
At Bennett & Gallon, we understand that your criminal case is of utmost importance to you and your family. We are here to give you the support you need and the professional services required to reduce your stress, raise your confidence, and secure the best possible outcome. The earlier you contact us for skilled representation, the better we can protect your rights and pursue your best interests when dealing with law enforcement, prosecutors, and the criminal justice system.
Missouri Misdemeanor Charges
In Missouri, misdemeanor charges are arranged into four categories:
- Class A misdemeanors: Maximum penalty of one year in jail and a fine of up to $2000
- Class B misdemeanors: Maximum penalty of six months in jail and up to a $1000 fine
- Class C misdemeanors: Maximum penalty of 15 days in jail and up to a $750 fine
- Class D misdemeanors: Maximum penalty of a $500 fine
Repeat convictions for the same offense or a related offense can result in harsher penalties. For example, a repeat offense of marijuana possession of 10 grams or less will result in a Class A misdemeanor instead of a Class D misdemeanor, which is charged for a first offense. A repeat offense of a Class D misdemeanor of stealing property valued at less than $150 will increase your charge to a Class A misdemeanor or, in the case of three previous convictions, a Class E felony.
Oklahoma Misdemeanor Charges
Oklahoma does not organize misdemeanors into separate categories. Misdemeanor offenses in Oklahoma carry a maximum sentence of up to one year in jail, $500 in fines, or both.
Examples of Oklahoma misdemeanor offenses include but are not limited to:
In some of these cases, fines can exceed $500. Jail times are imposed based on the nature and severity of the crime. For example, simple assault may result in only 30 days in jail, while stalking and petty theft may incur penalties of up to a year of jail time. Repeat offenses can also lead to harsher penalties.
Learn more about how the law impacts your case and what can be done about it in a free evaluation with a Joplin, MO and Miami, OK misdemeanor attorney. Contact Bennett & Gallon online or at (888) 814-9045 today.
“My experience with both Partners in this law firm has been very professional. I feel like my situation was taken seriously and handled with the confidence I would expect my representation to have when handling my personal matters.” - Brian W.