DUI/DWI Lawyers in Joplin, MO & Miami, OK
Have You Been Accused of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs?
Being arrested for drunk and/or drugged driving is generally a humiliating and intimidating experience. If it is a first offense, you are likely unfamiliar with the legal process or what to expect. You may be stressed out by the uncertainty of the outcome and how it will affect your life. Much is at risk when facing these charges, from potential jail time to heavy fines, probation, loss of your license, and a permanent criminal record. While you may believe you are doomed to such consequences, you should not accept defeat so easily. DUI/DWI charges can be defended. Many aspects of these charges can be found to be faulty, from police procedures to defective testing equipment and more. That is why you should turn to Bennett & Gallon for experienced representation.
Our firm has helped countless drivers in both Missouri and Oklahoma secure favorable outcomes against DUI/DWI charges. We know what to look for in uncovering evidence that is favorable to you or that can put the state’s case against you in doubt. Your first call in any DUI/DWI arrest should be to our firm to speak with one of our competent criminal defense lawyers as soon as possible. Get the advice and counsel you need at this critical time.
Under Oklahoma state law, you are driving under the influence (DUI) if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher. You can also be arrested for DUI if you have controlled substances in your system and are under the influence of any other intoxicating substance or combination of alcohol and drugs.
In a first-offense Oklahoma DUI conviction, you are at risk for penalties of up to a year in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and the loss of your license for six months.
You can also be arrested for drunk driving with a BAC of .05%-.08% when your ability to drive was impaired to the extent of putting others at risk. Oklahoma also has aggravated DUI charges, which involve a BAC measuring .15% or higher. This charge carries more severe penalties.
The term used in Missouri for drunk driving is driving while intoxicated (DWI). DWI charges are also based on a BAC of .08% or higher. It is punishable by up to a year in jail, fines of up to $1,000, and license suspension of 90 days.
You can also be arrested for Missouri DWI for driving while intoxicated by alcohol and/or drugs, regardless of your BAC level. Felony charges will apply in Missouri DWI if you are proven to be a persistent offender, aggravated offender, chronic offender, or habitual offender. These categories can result in harsher penalties.
How Bennett & Gallon Can Assist with DUI/DWI Charges
As you can see, penalties for DUI/DWI convictions are serious. You will have to deal with the criminal court system and the loss of your license. Our firm can help with both of these issues. We have the experience, skills, and insight needed to represent your best interests from start to finish.
Arrange for your free case consultation at Bennett & Gallon by contacting us online or at (888) 814-9045. You can schedule a time to speak directly with one of our Joplin, MO, and Miami, OK DUI/DWI attorneys about the specifics of your case.
“My experience with both Partners in this law firm has been very professional. I feel like my situation was taken seriously and handled with the confidence I would expect my representation to have when handling my personal matters.” - Brian W.